Our school has evolved from a small convent to a vibrant community.
In just over 100 years, our school evolved from a small convent to a vibrant 21st century learning community with contemporary, modern facilities and resources.
Our school was opened by the Sisters of Mercy in December 1912 on the site of the present school’s playing area. Ten students began on the first day in a small cottage known as 'Star of the Sea'.
On February 16, 1922 Archbishop Spence laid the foundation stone for the convent and by 1960 the number of students had grown to 300.
In 1986 we became a Parish Primary School for boys and girls and today we have expanded from ten students to 510 students and their families who are an integral part of the Henley Beach Catholic community.
The Sisters of Mercy remain an important part of our school's history.
Today Star of the Sea School celebrates both the Mercy charism and the Missionary of the Sacred Heart charism.
We have enjoyed involvement of the MSC priests in the Henley Beach Parish and our school for the last 100 years.